By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies I Agree Read our cookie policy

Croydon’s political map to be completely redrawn

Croydon’s political map to be completely redrawn
Sep 16, 2016 Shaking Hands 0 comments
This post was first published on The Croydon Advertiser on 13/09/2016

Croydon’s political map to be completely redrawn

Croydon’s political map is set to be completely redrawn – with the borough’s electors to choose five MPs as parts of the borough’s constituencies are shifted between Bromley, Croydon and Streatham.

The new plans have been drawn up as part of a move to cut the number of MPs nationwide from 650 to 600, as well as to make the number of electors in constituencies across the country roughly even.

A consultation on the plans by the Boundary Commission has been launched today, with public events to be held across London as part of the consultation.

There have been suggestions the review will benefit the Conservatives in Croydon Central, but analysis by UKPollingReport shows the seat is likely to remain a Tory/Labour marginal.

The most significant changes include Labour-voting New Addington and Fieldway moving into Croydon South, while Norbury will be part of a Streatham and Mitcham constituency, Shirley is also set to leave Croydon, joining Beckenham, while Crystal Palace will move the other way, from Lewisham West and Penge.

Labour, which stands to lose the most MPs nationwide under the plan, has accused the Government of redrawing the electoral map for the benefit of the Conservatives, since the new boundaries are based on electoral registration figures taken from last year, before millions of extra voters registered for the EU referendum.

But Sam Hartley, secretary for the Boundary Commission in England, said the review was an attempt to standardise the number of constituents per MP and that the commission did not take political ramifications into account.

The Boundary Commission has said the new wards are not set in stone, and has invited people to submit evidence either online here, until December, or at five public consultations across London,details of which can be seen here.

The new constituencies will be made up of the following wards:

Croydon North

Crystal Palace

Bensham Manor


South Norwood

Thornton Heath

Upper Norwood

West Thornton


Croydon Central



Broad Green





Croydon South

Coulsdon East

Coulsdon West




New Addington


Selsdon and Ballards

Norbury will join a Streatham and Mitcham constituency, while Shirley is to join a Beckenham constituency.

Waddon, currently the only ward in Croydon South that tends to vote Labour, will return to Croydon Central.