By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies I Agree Read our cookie policy

These are the Croydon roads that will and won’t be getting 20mph speed limits

These are the Croydon roads that will and won’t be getting 20mph speed limits
May 12, 2017 Shaking Hands 0 comments
This post was first published by Croydon Advertiser on 11/05/2017.

These are the Croydon roads that will and won’t be getting 20mph speed limits

Lower speed limits will come into force on the vast majority of Croydon’s roads, it was confirmed earlier this week.Croydon Council has decided to implement the 20mph speed limits in residential areas in a £1.5 million project to improve road safety.

But some crucial through-routes will be exempt from the new lower limit and will continue to keep their current speed limit.

But there has been controversy over the approval of the lower limits in the south and north west of the borough, with the Conservatives complaining that the council’s Labour administration did not give those areas the same local referendum on the limits as the ones that took place in the north and the east of the borough.

The council has said the consultation process for the initial two areas went beyond the minimum required, and says the project is paid for through funding from Transport for London.

A full list of all the exempt roads in the areas which haven’t yet got 20mph limits is below:

North west Croydon

  • Ampere Way
  • Beddington Farm Road
  • Croydon Road (A232)
  • Duppas Hill Lane
  • Faraday Way
  • Galvani Way
  • London Road
  • Mitcham Road
  • Old Town
  • Pump Pail North
  • Pump Pail South
  • Purley Way
  • Roman Way
  • Sumner Road
  • The Croydon Flyover
  • The Underpass
  • Thornton Road

South east Croydon

  • Addington Road
  • Audley Drive
  • Coombe Lane
  • Coombe Road
  • Croham Road
  • Croham Valley Road
  • Farley Road
  • Featherbed Lane
  • Gravel Hill
  • Kent Gate Way
  • King Henry’s Drive
  • Old Farleigh Road
  • Park Hill Road
  • Selsdon Park Road
  • Selsdon Road
  • Shirley Hills Road
  • South Park Hill Road
  • St Peter’s Road
  • Upper Selsdon Road
  • Upper Shirley Road
  • Lodge Lane between Kent Gate Way and King Henry’s Drive

South west Croydon

  • Banstead Road
  • Chipstead Valley Road
  • Coulsdon Road
  • Denning Avenue
  • Ditches Lane
  • Downs Court Road
  • Farthing Way
  • Foxley Lane
  • Godstone Road
  • Lion Green Road
  • Little Woodcote Lane
  • Marlpit Lane
  • Mitchley Avenue
  • Plough Lane
  • Purley Road
  • Purley Way
  • Rectory Park
  • Smitham Bottom Lane
  • Southbridge Road
  • Stafford Road
  • Stites Hill Road
  • Stoats Nest Road
  • The Netherlands
  • Warham Road
  • Wilhelmina Avenue
  • Woodcote Grove Road
  • Woodcote Road
  • Brighton Road from junction with Sanderstead Road up to borough boundary
  • Hayes Lane between borough boundary and Old Lodge Lane
  • Homefield Road from the south-eastern boundary of Wheelwright cottage, Homefield Road and its junction with Coulsdon Road
  • Woodplace lane from borough boundary to junction with Downs Road

The scheme has already been rolled out in two areas of Croydon, including parts of the north and east of the borough, including Norbury, Thornton Heath, South Norwood, Upper Norwood, Shirley, Addiscombe and Woodside.